If my old truck was a horse
I’d have to shoot it.
Lord the day my ship came in
I was waiting for a train

Every time I get a grip, I always lose it.
I can’t find the sunshine for the rain.
And you know I’m always saying I’m sorry
But you stand by me through it all.

Seems every time I make my mark
Somebody paints the wall,

Every time I think I’m off and runnin’
I’m barely up to a crawl.
Every time I get a leg up on the ladder of success
I slip and fall.

Like last week down at the factory
I was up for a promotion
But the boss says little brother got the call.

Seems every time I make my mark
Somebody paints the wall.

Every time I think I’m off and runnin’
I’m barely up to a crawl.

Every time I get a leg up
On the ladder of success, I slip and fall.

Like last week down at the factory
I was up for a promotion
But the boss says little brother got the call.

Seems like every time I make my mark
Somebody paints the wall.

Seems every time I make my mark
Somebody always paints the wall.

Artist: Tracy Lawrence
Album: Sticks And Stones
Release Date: 1991
